Our State Presidents

Late Prof. Haripada Bharati


Prof. Haripada Bharati alias ”Master Mosai” was the First President of Bharatiya Janata Party, West Bengal unit. He was famous for his oratory skill and for his kindness nature. He was also the Principal of Narasingha Dutta College, Howrah. In 1977 he was elected MLA from Jorabagan Assembly Constituency as a Janata Party candidate.

Late Dr. Vishnukant Shastri

(1982-1986) (1995-1997)

Shri Vishnu Kant Shastri appointed Lecturer in Hindi Department, Calcutta University in 1953. Retired as Professor from Calcutta University on 2nd May 1994.Elected member of the West Bengal Assembly on Janta Party ticket in 1977(1977-82), Joined newly formed Bhartiya Janata Party in 1980. President of West Bengal BJP (1982-86 & 1996-98); National Vice-President BJP (1988-93), Member Rajya Sabha (1992-98 ), Member National Executive Committee, BJP(1980-99). He was an Indian politician who served as the governor of Himachal Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh.

Shri Sukumar Banerjee

(1986-1991) (2006-2008)

Late Shri Tapan Sikdar

(1991-1995) (1997-1999)

Sri Tapan Sikdar was State President of BJP West Bengal unit from 1991 to 1995 and 1997 to 1999. Later he became union minister of state in the National Democratic Alliance government of India. In 1998 and 1999 he was elected MP from Dumdum Parliamentary Constituency. Shri Tapan Sikdar will be remembered for his rich contribution in building the BJP, oratory skill & his years of dedicated public service.

Prof. Ashim Ghosh


Prof. Tathagata Roy


Prof. Tathagata Roy is an Indian politician, engineer and author. He has newly been appointed as the Governor of Tripura. He was president of the West Bengal state unit of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) from 2002 till 2006. He was attracted towards Hindutva and became a Swayamsevak in 1986. After leaving government service he joined the BJP in 1990. He was selected as the Governor of Tripura on 12th of May 2015.

Shri Satyabrata Mookherjee


Shri Satyabrata Mookherjee is a former Indian Union Minister of State and was until recently the President of BJP’s West Bengal state unit before being replaced by Rahul Sinha in October 2009.

Shri Rahul Sinha


Shri Rahul Sinha is an Indian politician and current National Secretary of Bharatiya Janta Party.He served as President of Bharatiya Janta Party, West Bengal Unit from 2012-2015 before Dilip Ghosh.In 2012, Sinha was re-elected for three years as president of the West Bengal unit of the BJP after campaigning in the West Bengal Bharatiya Janata Party’s two month long organizational elections.As president,he led the party during the panchayat polls in 2013 and the 2014

Shri Dilip Ghosh


Shri Dilip Ghosh is an Indian politician and current president of the West Bengal unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He was the in-charge of RSS in Andaman and Nicobar Islands and even worked as an assistant to former RSS chief KS Sudarshan. He has come to BJP from RSS a year back & was appointed as WB State General Secretary.In 2015, Ghosh was elected as WEST BENGAL State President of BJP.

Dr. Sukanta Majumdar (M.P.)


Dr. Sukanta Majumdar is an Indian politician and current president of the West Bengal unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He is also a Member of Parliament .